Finland Reintroduces Internal Border Control With Andorra, Belgium & Netherlands Effective August 10, 2020

Finland’s cabinet made a decision today to further restrict the intra-Schengen travel to Finland due to rising Covid-19 infection rates in Andorra, Belgium, and the Netherlands.

The government relaxed internal border control with several countries at the beginning of July, but Austria, Slovenia, and Switzerland were already put back on the non-free travel list back in July.

This change means that passengers cannot freely travel to Finland from these countries from August 10, 2020. Citizens of Finland always have the right to return, and there is an exception in place for work-related travel from Schengen and EU member states.

Returning citizens and residents, however, need to voluntarily self-quarantine for 14 days.

There are no internal border checks or quarantine requirements for passengers arriving from thirteen countries of Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, Norway, and Slovakia.


Finland uses a far stricter requirement of 8 than 20 (most EU countries use this) Covid-19 infections per 100,000 people in the preceding 14 days, and thus the border is not open with that many countries.

Infection rates are slowly rising in Europe once the rules with gatherings (eating & drinking) and traveling were relaxed.

Let’s see how this will play out. I am heading back to Europe at the end of this month, and haven’t decided whether I will first stay in London or continue immediately somewhere else. I love the fall time in Helsinki, that I called my home for six years.

Continue Reading: Source Link

Leave a Comment